Scholarships: 1L students

We’re here to reward you for your academic excellence.

When you apply to Creighton University School of Law, you’re automatically considered for all of our law school scholarships. When you receive your acceptance letter from Creighton School of Law, you’ll also be notified of any scholarship awards.

Scholarship List

The following scholarships are available to 1L students.

Baird Holm, L.L.P. Annual Scholarship

Established by the Law Firm of Baird Holm, L.L.P. for first-year law students from Nebraska or Iowa who are from educationally or culturally disadvantaged backgrounds. 

Harry Kenneth Dwyer Endowed Scholarship

Established in honor of Harry Kenneth Dwyer, Class of 1930, by his widow, Edith Anne Dwyer, to assist students of high academic standing with need for financial aid. 

Barbara J. Gaskins Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Established in 2011 by Kenneth D. Gaskins in memory of his late wife, Barbara J. Gaskins.  For 30 years she was a member of the Creighton Law faculty and for 24 years she also served as Associate Dean of the Law School.  The scholarship is for first-year students with an undergraduate degree from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln, who are of high academic standing and demonstrate, according to accepted practices, a need for financial aid to continue their education.

Amelia & Emil Graff Endowed Scholarship

Established by the estate of Amelia Bunbury Graff in recognition of her husband, Emil Graff, Arts and Sciences Class of 1922, for first-, second- and third-year students. 

Hawkins Family Endowed Scholarship

Established by Kim, Class of 1979, and Karen Hawkins for students who have demonstrated high academic potential and have financial need.

Winthrop & Frances Lane Scholarship

Established in memory of Winthrop and Frances Lane by a family foundation and associates of the Omaha firm of Baird, Holm, McEachen, Pedersen, Hamann & Strasheim. 

Leo & Joy McCarthy Endowed Scholarship

Established in 2007 from a bequest made by the late Leo A. McCarthy, Class of 1963. The Leo & Joy McCarthy Endowed Scholarship is intended to assist students enrolled in the Creighton School of Law.

McGrath North Mullin & Kratz Endowed Scholarship

Established by the law firm of McGrath North Mullin & Kratz for two entering first-year students based on academic merit.  These scholarships are in the amount of one-half tuition.   

Harry G. & Marion M. Montgomery Scholarship

Established by the late Harry G. and Marion M. Montgomery for first-, second- or third-year students with high academic standards and financial need.

G. Robert Muchemore Foundation Scholarship

Established by the G. Robert Muchemore Foundation that provides scholarships for three law students. Applicants must be graduates of Nebraska high schools with a “B” average, must demonstrate financial need, and must maintain a “B” average in law school.   

Jack & Judy Twidwell Pogge Endowed Scholarship

Established by Jack Pogge, Class of 1978, and Judy Twidwell Pogge, Class of 1979, to assist students of high academic standing with need for financial aid.

Judge Richard E. Robinson Endowed Scholarship

Established by Judge Robinson’s law clerks in his honor for a first-year student. 

David A. Svoboda Endowed Scholarship

Established by the Kennedy Holland Law Firm (the former Kennedy, Holland, DeLacy & Svoboda partners are now associated with Lamson, Dugan & Murray and Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP) in memory of their colleague, David A. Svoboda, a 1959 graduate of Creighton University School of Law. 

Kutak Rock Diversity Scholarship

Established by the Law Firm of Kutak Rock for entering first-year students who have experienced cultural, educational or financial disadvantages.

John J. and Eleanor B. Sykora Endowed Scholarship

Established by John J. and Eleanor B. Sykora in memory of their son, John D. Sykora, Class of 1977, to provide one full-tuition scholarship annually to a student who ranked in the top five percent of his or her undergraduate graduating class.

A.A. & Ethel Yossem Endowed Scholarship

Established by the late A.A. Yossem for students of the Jewish faith. Eligible applicants must request consideration on the Application for Admission.