Alumni Merit Award Winner for 2016 is Major General Cassie Strom
Alumni Merit Award Winner for 2016 is Major General Cassie Strom

Major General Cassie Strom graduated from the School of Law in 1982. In 1984 she received her commission by direct appointment to the United States Air Force and began her active duty career. Strom led a distinguished career with the Air Force for more than 31 years, until her retirement in July 2015.

Strom has served at all levels in the Air Force. Her last assignment was as the Air National Guard Assistant to the Judge Advocate General. In addition, she served as a senior representative on the Judge Advocate General’s Air National Guard Council. She has worked in a variety of international peacekeeping exercises and her work has taken her to countries around the globe such as Korea, Spain, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Strom has set an inspiring example of dedication to the defense of freedom, “service before self” and to what it means to be an officer. Much of her career was focused on nation-building. She has been a trailblazer as one of the first JAGs to deploy into Bosnia. Strom is the first female ANG Advisor to Air Force Special Operations Command’s Staff Judge Advocate and the first woman to be promoted to a Major General in the Air Force Judge Advocate Corps.

Strom serves as a staff attorney with the Catholic Charities Veteran’s Advocacy Project in the Saint Louis University School of Law. In this role, Strom helps to provide the area homeless and low-income veterans’ community with legal representation to remove the legal barriers to obtaining housing, employment and benefits.

Further evidence of her commitment, leadership ability and outstanding military service are her numerous honors that include the Legion Merit Medal, Defense Superior Service Medal, the Humanitarian Service Medal and the Air Force Overseas Ribbon.

For her service to her country and to her local and global communities, Creighton University is proud to confer upon Major General Cassie Strom the 2016 School of Law Alumni Merit Award.