BLSA Wins Creighton Award
BLSA Wins Creighton Award

The Black Law Students Association (BLSA), was just selected as Creighton University’s “Most Outstanding Graduate/Professional School Student Organization” for the 2017-18 academic year.  This is quite an honor, and we are extremely proud of our BLSA chapter. BLSA’s leadership this year included:

  • President—Oluseyi Olowolafe
  • Vice-President—Kai Wahrmann-Harry
  • Secretary—Taylor Renfro
  • Treasurer—Dom O’Connor
  • Faculty Moderator—Professor Raneta Mack

Among BLSA’s many activities were organizing and fielding a new team for the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition, attending the Midwest Regional BLSA Conference in St. Louis, moderating and assisting with the Lane Lecture on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day featuring the Rev. Fred Gray and Greg Rhodes, JD’81, assisting with the alumni merit award recognition last fall of Donald Montgomery, JD’89, coordinating and assisting with the Judge Elizabeth D. Pittman Award ceremony honoring the Hon. Wadie Thomas, JD’80; and, perhaps most importantly of all, remaining a positive and influential presence at the law school throughout the year.  

BLSA’s nominators noted that our chapter “strives to fulfill the University’s mission and goals by continuously working to promote positivity and inclusivity among not only the whole law school, but the entire community.”